How Much Traffic Does Your Blog Need To Make $36,000 Per Year
Make Money Blogging
You want to make money blogging? You do? I can help you. But don’t think I am going to give you yet another 101 ways to make money online. Because it doesn’t work that way at all. Seriously.
If you already have a blog and is exploring ways to monetize your blog then here’s a list of over 40 Google AdSense alternatives to make money blogging.
Over the past several months, I have been trying to scale-up my content creation process — to create more blog posts per month in a consistent way. However, I was not able to do it and is yet to find a way that works for me.
But the good thing is, I ended up doing a lot of maths. I love maths. No, not the stuff that you and me learned at school — differentiation, integration, algebra, matrices, etc. — but the one applied in real life.
In fact, that’s how I ended up writing a fun blog post about How Much Traffic Do You Need To Make $100,000 a few years back. It was all about traffic and income and surprisingly it became one of the most popular posts on my blog.
So, today I just wanted to do a reverse blog post based on the numbers that I have worked out.
How Much Money Should You Invest In Content Marketing To Generate 1,000,000 Pageviews And $3,000 Per Month
And it’s about traffic, income, and costs too.
The only problem is, the math that I have used on the previous blog post can be applied to almost any blog/website out there. But the current math can’t be as it’s mostly based on my own traffic insights plus few case studies.
So, there’s every chance that the actual figures applicable for your own blog could be a lot different from mine. Needless to say, it ultimately depends upon your website’s niche, authority, and marketing efforts.
For instance, the number of pageviews of a blog depends very much on its bounce rate. Even a slight change in bounce rate means a lot in terms of pageviews.
My bounce rate is over 85% and the number of pages per visit is 1.30/visit. Now if I’ve managed to reduce my bounce rate to say around 80% then the number of pages per visit will be around 1.50/visit.
And it will easily result in a 15% jump in pageviews (with zero additional content creation).
Make Money Blogging: I just want to decode four questions
How Much Traffic Does Your Blog Need To Make $36,000 Per Year In Ad Revenue
How Many Blog Posts Do You Need To Generate A Million Pageviews Per Month
How Much Money Should You Invest In Content Marketing To Generate A Million Pageviews Per Month
How Much Time Does It Take To Reach Your Traffic Goal
Don’t Miss: Over 121 Websites For Anyone And Everyone To Make Money Online
How Much Traffic Does Your Blog Need To Make $36,000 Per Year
If your goal is to become a full-time blogger or has started a blog to make money blogging then you need a clear vision in terms of earnings and traffic. Let’s say your goal is to make $36,000 (that is, $3,000 x 12) in advertising revenue per year.
So, you need to figure out how much traffic will you need to hit that goal and the kind of effort (in terms of time, work, and investment) you have to put into in order to achieve that goal. It’s not a silly goal if you do not have any experience and is yet to make your first dollar online.
First, let’s just decode $36,000 into something more feasible.
$36,000/year ~ $3,000/month
$3,000/month ~ $692.31/week
$692.31/week ~ $98.63/day
$98.63/day ~ $4.11/hour
And if I were to count only working days and working hours then it comes to $18/hour (assuming 250 working days and 8 working hours). Just FYI.
Now let’s see how much traffic do you need to make $36,000/year in ad revenue. Once again, $36,000/year translates to around $98.63/day and let’s make it $100/day.
And I’m considering only “ad revenue” as it’s a definite way (especially via Google AdSense) to make money from any content rich website. That said, advertising may not be the best way to monetize your blog.
There are a ton of other ways that you can try to make money from your blog. It’s just that it takes a while to find out what’s best for you and your blog.
For instance, a blog that’s getting a lot of traffic (say, over 100,000 pageviews a month) can monetize the website with CPC & CPM ads, private banner and text link ads (they’re non-intrusive), affiliate marketing, e-book sales, sponsored reviews, etc. — and that’s exactly how others are doing it.
So, if indeed advertising is the best way to monetize your content then your income depends entirely upon your monthly pageviews and the CPM.
CPM (Cost Per Mille) stands for Cost Per 1,000 Impressions. A CPM is always represented in dollar terms and it tells you how much money you’re making from every 1,000 pageviews (or rather ad impressions). If you are making $10 from 4,000 impressions then your CPM will be $2.50.
Again, the actual CPM depends upon your traffic sources, website niche, audience demography, and ad placement.
If you are getting most of your traffic from the U.S. (and other English-speaking countries like Canada, U.K, Australia) then you can probably make a CPM of $4 (using a combination of different ad networks).
It also means that you will need at least 25,000 pageviews to make $100 (assuming a CPM of $4) a day.
Do remember that, if you have a non-English website that’s getting most of its traffic outside U.S. then your CPM could be as low as $0.50 (if not less).
For instance, I used to manage a Spanish tech blog that was getting over 2 million pageviews/month but it was getting a CPM of only $0.25 from Google AdSense. So, it’s really a different story.
That was about monetization with ad networks. Now what about private ads?
Well, the income from private ads is somewhat more predictable than income from ad networks like Google AdSense as we can set the price/CPM by ourselves.
You can dig BuySellAds.com to get some idea about the kind of pageviews that’s required to hit your income goal.
Just in case you didn’t know,
BuySellAds is one of the largest ad marketplace that connects advertisers and publishers directly. So, if you are a publisher then you can set your own pricing (on an ad unit basis or CPM basis).
Since they have categorized all the publisher websites you can browse the ones that is in your niche and can better assess the traffic required to hit your income goal.
I have already mentioned that you will need 25,000 pageviews a day to make $100 (assuming a combined CPM of $4 from all the ad networks and private ads that you have placed) and it means you will need 750,000 pageviews to make $3,000 a month.
None of the above websites are getting over 750,000 pageviews a month and yet they are making thousands of dollars a month. So, the idea is to showcase few websites that is making almost $3,000 a month in ad revenue without generating 750,000 pageviews.
All of them are monetizing their websites with multiple ad networks plus they must be making additional income by way of affiliates, sponsors, private banner & text link ads, etc. So, the real income could be a lot higher or lower than the figures that I have mentioned here.
And there’s one more thing….
The CPM rates can vary significantly from website to website and industry to industry. For example, the CPM set by the above technology blog is $4.5 but it’s as high as $14 for Windows Central (with over 22 million pageviews) and as low as $3 for OS X Daily (with over 4 million pageviews).